Print this Page

Class Structure

Our published admissions number for each of our seven year groups (Reception – Y6) is 45.  These year groups are structured into 11 classes, all named after birds, as shown in the table below.  Our Nursery classes (Ducklings in the morning and Penguins in the afternoon) are taught by Mrs. Jana Jones and Mrs. Sarah Pearson respectively; we admit children to our Nursery at the start of the term after they have turned 3-years-old.


Class Year Group Current teacher
Puffins Reception Miss Sophie Tierney
Swans Reception Mrs. Leigh Dyer
Robins Y1 Miss Abigail Reynolds
Wrens Y1 and 2 Mrs. Rebecca Parsons
Nightingales Y2 Mrs. Jenny Alleway
Owls Y3 and 4 Miss Zoe Shuttleworth
Falcons Y3 and 4 Mrs. Anna Conway (0.7fte) and Mr. Rob Woods (0.3fte)
Hawks Y3 and 4 Miss Charlotte Rawcliffe
Kites Y5 and 6 Mr. David Macfarlane
Eagles Y5 and 6 Miss Lyn Hill (0.8fte) and Mr. Rob Woods (0.2fte)
Kestrels Y5 and 6 Mr. Dan Guy
  • Younger Reception tend to join Puffin Class, and older ones tend to start school in Swan Class;
  • Older year Y1 and younger Y2 children generally move into Wren class, although account is also taken of established friendships at this point;
  • Our Key Stage Two classes (years 3, 4, 5 and 6) are grouped into two age phases: Lower Key Stage Two (Y3 and 4) and Upper Key Stage Two (Y5 and 6).  Each age phase is then made up of 3 parallel classes.  These have an equal split of both year groups, both genders etc, and are not ability based. This structure allows our staff to share their strengths by working collaboratively, and allows us to look at social and friendship groups when structuring classes in this part of school.

Permanent link to this article: